Consultative committee nominations

Officers of IEC Consultative Committees

By Claire Marchand

In addition to its regular TCs (Technical Committees), the IEC has a number of SGs (Strategic Groups), SBs (Sector Boards) and Technical Advisory Committees that report to the SMB (Standardization Management Board). This month, e-tech announces various changes and nominations.

SG 3: Smart Grid SG 3: Smart Grid

IEC SG 3 on Smart Grid

SG (Strategic Group) 3 came into being in 2008 when the SMB saw the need for long-term planning for the Smart Grid. SG 3 is responsible for overseeing the International Standards that are required to achieve global interoperability of systems and services. At the same time, it provides and manages a central repository via the IEC website to serve industry in terms of published standards and guidance for ongoing Smart Grid projects.

SMB has approved the nomination of Tae Wan Kim as the Korean NC (National Committee) member to SMB SG 3.


ACOS (Advisory Committee on Safety) deals with safety matters that are not specific to a single TC (Technical Committee). Its task is to guide and coordinate IEC work on safety matters to ensure consistency in IEC safety standards. Reporting to the SMB, ACOS assigns horizontal and group safety functions to TCs to ensure this consistency.

ACOS membership

The total number of members, including the Chairman, but excluding the Secretariat, may not exceed 16, unless otherwise approved by the SMB. It comprises:

  • six experts nominated by their NCs, who are knowledgeable in safety matters but have no officer affiliation with any IEC TC or SC (Subcommittee) dealing with safety matters
  • a maximum of 11 representatives of IEC TCs or SCs, nominated by the TC/SC Officers and supported by the TC/SC P-members (Participating Members), whose activities include safety matters as a major part of their work
  • the Chairman of the IECEE (IEC System of Conformity Assessment Schemes for Electrotechnical Equipment and Components) - ex officio

SMB has approved the nomination of Geoff Alstead to a third term on ACOS. The term runs from 1 May 2011 to 30 April 2014. Alstead serves on IEC TC 56: Dependability, as Convenor of AG (Strategic Advisory Group) 7.

SMB has also approved the nomination of Claus-Dieter Ziebell to a first term on ACOS. The term runs from 1 June 2011 to 31 May 2014. Ziebell is Chairman of IEC TC 23: Electrical accessories.

SG 3: Smart Grid SG 3: Smart Grid
TC 56: Dependability TC 56: Dependability
TC 23: Electrical accessories TC 23: Electrical accessories