IEC NC nominations

New Swiss NC President and Czech NC Secretary

By Claire Marchand

This month, e-tech announces various nominations for IEC NCs (National Committees).

Stephan Bürgin. Stephan Bürgin.

Stephan Bürgin President of the Swiss National Committee of the IEC

Stephan Bürgin, who is CEO (Chief Executive Officer) of Elma Electronic AG has been appointed as President of the IEC National Committee of Switzerland.

Trained as an electrical engineer in the field of telecommunications, Stephan Bürgin also studied business economics at the Engineering School in Zurich and "building and energy" at the Engineering School in Winterthur.

In 1979, Bürgin joined Siemens Schweiz AG where he occupied various managerial positions before his appointment as Head of Development and Production in 2000, a position he held until 2003. Between 2003 and 2007, Bürgin served as CEO of several Swiss companies active in the electronics sector, such as Swisstronics Contract Manufacturing AG and Electronicparc Holding AG, later acquired by Cicor Technologies.

Stephan Bürgin, who has been CEO of Elma Electronic AG since April 2007 is also the company's Regional Manager for Asia and a member of its Executive Board.

Jan Vanda Secretary of the Czech National Committee of the IEC

Jan Vanda has been appointed as the new Secretary of the IEC National Committee of the Czech Republic.

Vanda studied electronics, optoelectronics and photonics at the Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic. This was followed by a specialization in microstructured optical fibres for a Ph.D. which he received in 2009.

He began his career as quality manager for a private company, but soon joined an international research team at IESL (Institute of Electronic Structures and Lasers) in Greece where he worked as a researcher in microstuctured fibre sensors.

Vanda returned to the Czech Republic when he was offered a position at UNMZ (the Czech Office for Standards, Metrology and Testing) in Prague. His professional experience, both in his home country and abroad, and his excellent knowledge of standards and standardization work, acquired over the years, were key factors in his nomination as Secretary of the Czech NC. Vanda also represents UNMZ in ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute) and has been a permanent delegate for CENELEC, the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization, since January 2011.

Stephan Bürgin. Stephan Bürgin.
Jan Vanda.
There are IEC National Committees throughout the world. There are IEC National Committees throughout the world.