Technical Committee nominations

New TC Chairs begin their terms in June and July

By Zoë Smart

Six IEC Technical Committees (TCs) welcomed new Chairs in June and July. Their nominations, approved by the IEC Standardization Management Board (SMB), include TC 86, TC 88 and TC 106 in June, TC 15, TC 49 and TC 72 in July.

Mike Wood Mike Wood, new Chair of IEC TC 106

About Michel Bouquain

Bouquain, new Chair of TC 86: Fibre optics, is a fibre optic metrology management expert. Currently Quality Director at JDSU France, he has 23 years of experience in standardization at the IEC. Bouquain has been involved with TC 86 since 1991 as Member, Secretary and Convenor of different Working Groups and has often been head of the French delegation. He takes over as Chair from 1 June for a period of 6 years.

About Jeroen van Dam

Van Dam, new Chair of TC 88: Wind turbines, has a wealth of experience in the field and is Principal Engineer at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. Member of 3 IEC Maintenance Teams he is also Chair of the Test Laboratory Subgroup under the IEC Certification Advisory Committee. Van Dam has been elected Chair of TC 88 for the period 2015-06-01 to 2021-05-31.

About Mike Wood

Wood takes over as Chair of TC 106: Methods for the assessment of electric, magnetic and electromagnetic fields associated with human exposure, on June 1. General Manager - EME Management, Compliance and Education at Telstra Corporation, Wood also leads the Australian industry team responsible for mobile safety, regulatory compliance and stakeholder engagement at the Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association. He has been involved in standardization since 1995 and with the IEC since 2005.

Following a meeting of the new TC106 leadership team, it was agreed that a key objective is “to develop and implement a 2020 Strategic Business Plan for TC 106 to deliver efficient compliance standards for future technologies including 5G, the Internet of Things and a truly connected world”. A vision that Wood is passionate about achieving. 

About Bernhard Klaussner

Klaussner is Manager non-metallic materials at Siemens in Germany. His work at the IEC began in 2003 when he joined TC 15, for which he has been the German Chief Delegate since 2006. He took up as Chair of TC 15 on 1 July 2015. Klaussner is also a member of TC 112: Evaluation and qualification of electrical insulating materials and systems, and participates in Working Groups (WGs) for both Technical Committees.

About Dr Donald Malocha

With a background in electrical engineering, Malocha is a highly recognized Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Central Florida, and has received many awards in research and education. He began work at the IEC as a US Delegate for a working group of TC 49 from 1989-94. Since then he has participated in six different WGs and took up the role of Chair as of 1 July 2015. Malocha also contributes to the work of other international standardization organizations.

About Eckhard Schwendemann

Schwendemann has a diploma of engineering, specializing in machinery. During his managerial career at Siemens and subsequently as a technical management consultant, he worked in quality assurance and on functional safety for systems used in heating. In 1990, Schwendemann joined TC 72, specifically the working group which was established to launch the inclusion of safety requirements for safety relevant software. He took up as Chair of TC 72 on 1 July 2015. Since 2010, Schwendemann has also been a member of TC 105: Fuel cell technology, and a Convenor of two of its WGs.

Mike Wood Mike Wood, Chair of IEC TC 106
Michel Bourquain. Chair, IEC TC 86 Michel Bouquain, Chair of IEC TC 86
Bernhard Klaussner. Chair, IEC TC 15 Bernhard Klaussner, Chair of TC 15
Donald Malocha. Chair, IEC TC 49 David Malocha, Chair of TC 49