Nominations and extensions - September 2015

Technical Committee Chairs beginning their terms in August and September

By Zoë Smart

The Standardization Management Board (SMB) has approved the following IEC Technical Committee (TC) Chair nominations and extensions.

Lutz Hofmann. Chair, IEC TC 73 Lutz Hofmann is the new Chair of IEC TC 73

About Bob Mitchell

New TC 47 Chair Bob Mitchell is Corporate EMC Program Manager at Analog Devices. He has more than fifteen years’ experience as an EMC Engineer, having worked with automotive, military and aerospace suppliers and direct contractors on EMC projects. 

Mitchell has been involved with the IEC as voting US Delegate for more than 3 years and with standardization in general for the past 12 years. He takes over as Chair of TC 47: Semiconductor devices on 1 September for a period of 6 years.

About Andreas Starke

Andreas Starke is new Chair of TC 48: Electrical connectors and mechanical structures for electrical and electronic equipment. He holds a PhD from the Technical University of Berlin and is General Manager of Intellectual Property and Standardization at HARTING Technology Group.

Starke first got involved with standardization in 2006 as a Cenelec expert and has been a member of the council of the German National Committee (NC) since 2010. He is Member of a number of IEC Working Groups (WG) within TC 48 and the corresponding mirror committee within the German NC. Between 2009 and 2011 he was a Member of SC 23H MT8 which is in charge of the IEC 62196 series on EV plugs and sockets.

About Lutz Hofmann

Lutz Hofmann new Chair of TC 73: Short-circuit currents is Full Professor and Head of the Institute of Electric Power Systems at the Leibniz University Hannover and Head of the Transmission Networks department at the Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology in Kassel, Germany.

German Member of TC 73/WG 1: Short-circuit currents, Hofmann is also member of the DIN Standard Committees K121 and UK121.1, as well as Member of CIGRE. He is the author of several publications on power system modelling and calculation of steady states and transients in power systems.

About Hannu Peiponen

An electrical engineer, Hannu Peiponen is Technical director responsible for rules, regulations and type approval at Furuno Finland Oy, a supplier of marine electronics. He takes over as Chair of TC 80: Maritime navigation and radiocommunicaton equipment and systems on 1 September for a period of six years.

Peiponen has been involved with TC 80 since 1995 for which has been Working Group Member and Convenor for multiple Standards. He is currently Convenor of WG 6: Digital interfaces and Finnish delegate to TC 80 plenary meetings. In 2013 he received the 1906 Award for his TC 80-related work.


The SMB has approved the extension of the term of office of Yoshiaki Ichikawa, Chair of TC 111: Environmental standardization for electrical and electronic products and systems for the period 2015-08-01 to 2018-07-31.

Roger C Wicks, Chair of TC 112: Evaluation and qualification of electrical insulating materials and systems has had his term of office extended for a further three years, as of 1 October 2015.

Hannu Peiponen. Chair, IEC TC 80 Hannu Peiponen, new Chair of IEC TC 80
Bob Mitchell. Chair, IEC TC 47 Bob Mitchell now chairs IEC TC 47
Lutz Hofmann. Chair, IEC TC 73 Lutz Hofmann is the new Chair of IEC TC 73