Council Statutory Session - Minsk

Report on elections, appointments and other statutory issues

By Claire Marchand

Council, the supreme governing body of the IEC, held its meeting on Friday 16 October 2015 during the IEC General Meeting in Minsk, Belarus.

IEC Officers 2015 IEC Officers - from right: IEC Vice-President and CAB Chairman Ulrich Spindler, IEC Vice-President and SMB Chairman Jim Matthews, IEC Immediate Past President Klaus Wucherer, IEC President Junji Nomura, IEC General Secretary & CEO Frans Vreeswijk, IEC Treasurer Åke Danemar and IEC Vice-President and MSB Convenor Yinbiao Shu

Statutory issues concerning the election/appointment of

  • the future IEC President
  • the Convenor of the Market Strategy Board (MSB) and IEC Vice-President
  • five Members of the Council Board (CB)
  • three Members of the Standardization Management Board (SMB)
  • four Members of the Conformity Assessment Board (CAB)

Other principal items on the agenda

  • The General Secretary’s report (see separate e-tech article)
  • The President’s address (see separate e-tech article)
  • Financial matters
  • Reports from the Council Board, including reports from the IEC Vice-Presidents on SMB, CAB and MSB activities (see separate e-tech articles on SMB, CAB and MSB)
  • Forthcoming GMs (General Meetings)

Election results

Future IEC President

Council elected Mr James M. Shannon from the United States as IEC President for a three-year term of office (1 January 2017 to 31 December 2019) and as President-Elect for the year 2016 (see e-tech article in this issue).

Convenor of the MSB and Vice-President of the IEC

Council re-elected Dr Yinbiao Shu from China as IEC Vice-President for a three-year term of office (2016-2018), with the specific responsibility of leading the technology and market-watch effort.

Council Board

Council elected Mr Xu Zengde from China as a financial Group A CB member for a three-year term of office (2016-2018).

Council elected/re-elected four members of the CB for a three-year term of office (2016-2018):

  • Mr Valerio Battista (Italy))
  • Mr Günter Idinger (Austria)
  • Mr Peter Leong Weng Kwai (Singapore)
  • Mr Ed Tymofichuk (Canada)

Standardization Management Board

Council re-appointed Ms Hong Dai from China as an Automatically Appointed Member of the SMB for a three-year term of office (2016-2018).

Council elected/re-elected:

  • Mr Kim Craig (Australia)
  • Mr Tony Capel (Canada)

as members of the SMB for a three-year term of office (2016-2018).

Conformity Assessment Board

Council re-appointed Mr Weijun Liu from China and Mr Simon Barrowcliff from the United Kingdom as Automatically Appointed Members of the CAB for a three-year term of office (2016-2018).

Council elected/re-elected:

  • Prof B.-K. Lee (Korea)
  • Mr Fredrik Wennersten (Sweden)

as members of the CAB for a three-year term of office (2016-2018).

Financial matters

Dr Åke Danemar, IEC Treasurer, reported on the financial situation of the IEC.

Council approved the audited accounts of the Commission for the financial year 2014 as well as the 2016 budget and the distribution of national dues for 2016.

Future General Meetings

80th General Meeting
Frankfurt, Germany, from 10 to 14 October 2016, hosted by the German NC

81st General Meeting
Vladivostok, Russian Federation, from 9 to 13 October 2017

82nd General Meeting
Council formally accepted the invitation of the Republic of Korea NC to host the 2018 General Meeting in Busan from 22 to 26 October.

Although Council can only officially accept invitations from National Committees up to three years in advance, many Members have already declared their intention to invite the IEC to host a future IEC GM:

83rd General Meeting
The Chinese National Committee has stated its intention to invite the IEC for the 2019 GM.

The National Committees of Sweden, the United Arab Emirates, the United States and Egypt have expressed an interest in hosting the GM in the years 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023 respectively.

In conclusion, Council expressed its warm appreciation to all members of the Organizing Committee and the IEC National Committee of Belarus for their excellent organization of the 79th IEC General Meeting and for the generous hospitality extended to IEC delegates in Minsk.

Council 2015 The Council Statutory Session took place in the dome...
National Olympic Committee of Republic of Belarus ...of the Belarus National Olympic Committee building
Council 2015 closeup National Committee delegations
Affiliates council Affiliates Heads of delegations