Lord Kelvin Award

2011 nominations open

By Philippa Martin-King

Created and first granted in 1995, the pre-eminent Lord Kelvin Award is named after the IEC’s distinguished first President. It is the IEC’s highest tribute and though not necessarily always awarded each year, is only granted to a maximum of three outstanding individuals in any one year, in recognition of their outstanding long-term technical contributions to the IEC's work.

...and a golden pin. ...and a golden pin.

Major role played in helping technical work evolve

Those honoured must still be active in the IEC and will have contributed significantly to the IEC over a substantial number of years, particularly through their leadership and technical contributions to international electrotechnical standardization and related activities. The accolade recognizes the major role that a person has played in helping technical work evolve, or in developing and promoting the IEC CA (Conformity Assessment) systems, to the extent that their contribution has had a considerable impact on industry or commerce.

Who can nominate

As is fitting for the IEC’s most distinguished Award, nominations may be made by IEC NCs (National Committees), TC (Technical Committee) and SC (Subcommittee) Chairmen, and members of the CB (Council Board), SMB (Standardization Management Board) and CAB (Conformity Assessment Board), irrespective of the nationality of the nominee.

Laureates are presented with their Lord Kelvin Award by the IEC President in the presence of a maximum number of peers and colleagues during the IEC General Meeting, usually either at the Council meeting or at the Host Committee’s dinner for Presidents, Chairmen and Secretaries.

Full details of nomination criteria and the relevant procedures can be found in the password-protected AC13/2011 on the IEC website.

Submission date

The deadline for nominations is 6 May 2011.

Lord Kelvin was the first President of the IEC Lord Kelvin was the first President of the IEC
Laureates receive a gold medal... Laureates receive a gold medal...
...and a golden pin. ...and a golden pin.