Thomas A. Edison Award

2011 Laureates

By Gabriela Ehrlich

The IEC Thomas A. Edison Awards are attributed each year to recognize exceptional current achievement in the management of IEC standardization and conformity assessment activities by current TC (Technical Committee) and SC (Subcommittee) officers or officers of the IEC CA (Conformity Assessment) Systems.

Stringent selection criteria

To be proposed for nomination, TC/SC officers must have made an outstanding contribution to IEC systems and standardization work that positively impacted the committee’s key stakeholders and/or the efficiency of its work. Proposed candidates must still be active in the IEC.

Potential candidates from a conformity assessment system or subsidiary body will have rendered outstanding services in the committee management of one of the systems during the past five years.

Laureates receive their award from the hands of the Vice-President Chairman of the SMB or CAB during the respective board meeting that is held in conjunction with the General Meeting.

This year, James E. Matthews III, IEC Vice-President and Chairman of the SMB, presented the TC/SC  laureates with a silver medal, lapel pin and certificate during the IEC GM (General Meeting) in Melbourne, Australia. Wim De Kesel, one of the SMB nominees, was not able to be present and will receive his award at a later date.

In the absence of Wolfgang Kreinberg, CAB did not hold a Thomas A. Edison Award ceremony in Melbourne. Kreinberg will receive his award in early 2012.

This year’s laureates of the Thomas A. Edison Award are:

Anne Bosma, ABB, Sweden

Secretary TC 17: Switchgear and controlgear and SC 17A: High-voltage switchgear and controlgear

Through his strong, efficient and capable administrative leadership Bosma has in an outstanding way contributed to structuring both committees to allow them to most efficiently meet the market needs of high-voltage products.    

Wim De Kesel, LEGRAND, Belgium

Secretary TC 23: Electrical accessories

De Kesel has been the driving force behind the investigation into the new roles of DC for increased energy efficiency, actively promoting the work of the IEC.  His approach goes beyond the traditional role of the Secretary in that he challenges traditional thinking and points IEC work in new directions consistent with rapidly evolving technologies.

Wolfgang Kreinberg, TÜV SÜD, Germany

Chairman IECEE Factory Inspection Committee, convenor or member of various IECEE working groups, IEC Coordinator in ISO/CASCO WG 31, Lead Assessor and Trainer for Peer Assessment of the IECEE CB Scheme

Kreinberg has on many levels significantly contributed to the success of the IEC Conformity Assessment Systems and in particular IECEE (IEC System of Conformity Testing and Certification for Electrotechnical Equipment and Components).

Ken-ichi Sato, Sumitomo Electric Industries, Ltd, Japan

Secretary TC 90: Superconductivity

Sato was one of the driving forces behind the establishment of this TC. Today he efficiently administrates the 13 working groups and has successfully put in place active collaboration with other TCs and outside organizations to streamline standardization work in superconductivity for the benefit of industry. 

Lev Travin, All-Russian Electrotechnical Institute, Russia

Secretary SC 22F: Power electronics for electrical transmission and distribution systems

Travin successfully identified the need for standardization in high voltage, high current power components and products: He enthusiastically drove the introduction of market-based working principles in his SC. Under Travin’s leadership, SC 22F has been able to vastly increase the publication of high-quality consensus standards, responding efficiently to the needs of new markets and technologies.

Anne Bosma receiving his award Anne Bosma receiving his award
Ken-ichi Sato is one of the five 2011 laureates Ken-ichi Sato is one of the five 2011 laureates
Lev Travin was at the event in Melbourne to receive his award Lev Travin was at the event in Melbourne to receive his award