2012 Awards

Recognizing commitment to the IEC

By Claire Marchand

Every year the IEC honours the commitment and work of a number of individuals in its community who, through their leadership and technical expertise, have contributed to making products and electrical systems safer, more energy efficient, more reliable and more compatible.

lord_kelvin_visual IEC Lord Kelvin Award

Lord Kelvin Award - IEC's highest distinction

Created and first awarded in 1995, the IEC Lord Kelvin Award is named after the IEC's distinguished first President, William Thomson, Lord Kelvin. It is the IEC's highest tribute and is awarded primarily in recognition of the long-term technical contributions that outstanding individuals have made to the Commission. 

Nominations for the Lord Kelvin Award can be made by IEC NCs (National Committees), TC/SC(Technical Committee and Subcommittee) Chairmen, and members of the CB (Council Board),SMB (Standardization Management Board) and CAB (Conformity Assessment Board). They submit their proposals based on their recognition of contributions made over time, irrespective of the nationality or technical area of the nominee.

Thirty-three laureates have to date been honoured with the IEC's highest accolade. To qualify, candidates must still be active in the IEC and have contributed significantly to IEC work over more than five years, particularly through their leadership and technical contributions to international electrotechnical standardization, CA (Conformity Assessment) or related activities. The Award recognizes the major role that a person has played to the extent that their contribution has considerably benefited industry or commerce, or promoted the IEC’s image in the business world.

Friedrich Harless to receive the 2012 Lord Kelvin Award

The 2012 laureate is Friedrich Harless of Germany. A special ceremony will be organized for him during the Council Statutory Session at the IEC General Meeting in Oslo, Norway, on 5 October 2012. He is to receive his gold medal, gold lapel pin and certificate from IEC President Klaus Wucherer, in the presence of a great number of his peers and colleagues.

Friedrich Harless is Chairman of IEC TC 44: Safety of machinery - Electrotechnical aspects and Chairman of ACOS (the SMB Advisory Committee on Safety). His long-standing contribution to the aims and principles of the IEC has spanned decades. He constantly and openly shares his vast amount of expert technical knowledge and his broad experience in electrical safety with many people. His peers worldwide regard him as one of the most important pioneers in the modern approach to safety.

2012 Thomas A. Edison Award recipients

The IEC Thomas A. Edison Award was awarded for the first time in 2010. It recognizes exceptional achievement in committee management by either current TC/SC Officers or their CA counterparts. The Award can be given to a maximum of nine people in one year.

In 2012, the SMB chose five TC/SC Officers:

  • Karen Higginbottom, Chairwoman of ISO/IEC JTC 1: Information Technology
  • Derek R. Johns, Secretary of IEC TC 61: Safety of household and similar electrical appliances
  • Li Yaping, Chairwoman of IEC TC 95: Measuring relays and protection equipment
  • Etsuji Sugita, Secretary of IEC SC 86B: Fibre optic interconnecting devices and passive components
  • Claire Vincent, Secretary of IEC TC 78: Live working

The CAB will bestow the Award on:

  • Kerry McManama, Chairman, IECEX
  • David W. Smith, Chairman, IECQ

1906 Award

The IEC 1906 Award was established in commemoration of the Commission’s foundation in that year and honours technical experts around the world whose work is fundamental to the IEC. Each year a maximum of five awards may be granted per TC, including its various subcommittees.

A total of 140 experts from 49 TCs (including ISO/IEC JTC 1 and IECEE) and 21 NCs were nominated to receive this year’s 1906 Award. It recognizes exceptional recent achievements that contribute in a significant way to advancing the work of the Commission.

lord_kelvin_visual IEC Lord Kelvin Award
IEC Thomas A. Edison Award IEC Thomas A. Edison Award
IEC 1906 Award IEC 1906 Award