2014 IEC Awards

Recognizing commitment to the IEC

By Claire Marchand

Every year the IEC honours the commitment and work of a number of individuals in its community who, through their leadership and technical expertise, have contributed to making products and electrical systems safer, more energy efficient, more reliable and more compatible.

EC Lord Kelvin Award IEC Lord Kelvin Award

Lord Kelvin Award - the highest distinction of the IEC

Created and first bestowed in 1995, the IEC Lord Kelvin Award is named after the IEC first President, William Thomson, Lord Kelvin. It is the highest tribute of the IEC and is awarded in recognition of the long-term technical contributions that outstanding individuals have made to the Commission.

Nominations for the Lord Kelvin Award can be made by IEC NCs (National Committees), TC/SC (Technical Committee and Subcommittee) Chairmen, and members of the CB (Council Board), SMB (Standardization Management Board) and CAB (Conformity Assessment Board). They submit their proposals based on their recognition of contributions made over time, irrespective of the nationality or technical area of the nominee.

To date, 33 laureates have received the Lord Kelvin Award. To qualify, candidates must still be active in the IEC and have contributed significantly to IEC work over more than five years. The award honours exceptional leadership and technical contributions to international electrotechnical standardization, CA (Conformity Assessment) or related activities. It recognizes the role of the awardee in promoting the image of the IEC worldwide and contributions to global trade and industry.

Dr Shuji Hirakawa to receive the 2014 Lord Kelvin Award

The 2014 laureate is Dr Shuji Hirakawa of Japan. A special ceremony will be organized for him during the Presidents’ Dinner at the IEC General Meeting in Tokyo, Japan, on 12 November 2014. He is to receive his gold medal, gold lapel pin and certificate from IEC President Junji Nomura.

From 2004 to 2011, Dr Hirakawa was Secretary of IEC TC 100: Audio, video and multimedia systems and equipment. Since 2011, he has been the SMB member representing the Japanese NC and has also served as a member of several SMB ad hoc Groups. As a SMB member, he proposed the establishment of a new TC for electrical energy storage systems, now IEC TC 120, and made significant contributions for implementing the first IEC Systems Evaluation Group: SEG 1 on Smart Cities. Dr Hirakawa is also a member of the IEC DMT (Directive Maintenance Team) and the ISO/IEC Joint DMT.

2014 Thomas A. Edison Award recipients

The IEC Thomas A. Edison Award was bestowed for the first time in 2010. It recognizes exceptional achievement in committee management by either current TC/SC Officers or their CA counterparts. The Award can be given to a maximum of nine people in one year.

In 2014, the SMB chose three TC/SC Officers:

  • Elaina Finger, Assistant Secretary, TC 86/SC 86C: Fibre optics/Fibre optic systems and active devices
  • Jim Munro, Chair, TC 31: Equipment for explosive atmospheres
  • Guy Perrot, Secretary, TC 86/SC 86A: Fibre optics/Fibres and cables, and TC 46/SC 46F: Cables, wires, waveguides, R.F. connectors, R.F. and microwave passive components and accessories/R.F. and microwave passive components

The CAB will bestow the Award on:

  • Wolfgang Niedziella, IECEE (IEC System of Conformity Assessment Schemes for Electrotechnical Equipment and Components).

1906 Award

The IEC 1906 Award was established in commemoration of the Commission’s foundation in that year and honours technical experts around the world whose work is fundamental to the IEC. Each year a maximum of five awards may be granted per TC, including its various subcommittees.

A total of 150 experts from 50 TCs (including ISO/IEC JTC 1) and 11 experts from the CA Systems, representing 21 NCs, were nominated to receive this year’s 1906 Award. It recognizes exceptional recent achievements that contribute in a significant way to advancing the work of the Commission.

EC Lord Kelvin Award IEC Lord Kelvin Award
IEC Thomas A. Edison Award IEC Thomas A. Edison Award
IEC 1906 Award IEC 1906 Award