December 2014 nominations

New TC Chairmen

By Zoë Smart

The end of 2014 sees new Chairmen taking over at IEC TC (Technical Committee) 3: Information structures and elements, identification and marking principles, documentation and graphical symbols, and IEC TC 8: Systems aspects for electrical energy supply.

portrait HR Hervé Rochereau, new Chairman of TC 8

About Eirik Selvik

The SMB (Standardization Management Board) approved the nomination of Eirik Selvik as Chairman of TC 3 for a period of 6 years, from 1 December 2014 to 30 November 2020.

Selvik holds a PhD in Electrical Engineering from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. He worked at the Norwegian Institute of Technology as well as the Norwegian Research Institute for Electrical Supply as Research Engineer. Since 2001 he has been working as a consultant and has his own company, Eirik Selvik Elektro. He has extensive experience with standardization having been involved with both NEK, the Norwegian Standardization Body, and IEC since 1985. From 1998 to 2012 Selvik was Chairman of IEC TC 16: Basic and safety principles for man-machine interface, marking and identification.

About Hervé Rochereau

Hervé Rochereau succeeds Richard Schomberg as Chairman of TC 8 for a period of 6 years, as of 1 December 2014.

Rochereau holds an Engineering Degree from the Ecole Supérieure d’Electricité, France, and first joined EDF (Electricité de France) in 1985, as Research Engineer of the R&D division. In 1999 he joined the Standardization Department of EDF as Delegate for Standardization and has been increasingly involved in standardization technical work at national, regional and international level. Rochereau is also a Member of the IEC SMB.


The SMB has approved the extension of the term of office of Paul Jarman as Chairman of TC 14: Power transformers for the period 2014-12-01 to 2017-11-30.

Vote on keyboard SMB members vote on new Chairmen and extensions to terms of office
powerup symbol Among other things, TC 3 prepares graphical symbols for use on equipment
portrait HR Hervé Rochereau, new Chairman of TC 8