2016 Council Statutory Session

Report on elections, appointments and other statutory issues

By Claire Marchand

Council, the supreme governing body of the IEC, held its meeting on Friday 14 October 2016 during the IEC General Meeting in Frankfurt, Germany.

IEC Officers during Council Statutory Session in Frankfurt, Germany IEC Officers - from right: IEC Vice-President and MSB Convenor Yinbiao Shu, IEC Treasurer Åke Danemar, IEC General Secretary & CEO Frans Vreeswijk, IEC President Junji Nomura, IEC President-Elect James M. Shannon, IEC Vice-President and SMB Chair James E. Matthews III and IEC Vice-President and CAB Chair Ulrich Spindler

Statutory issues concerning the election/appointment of 

  • the Chair of the Standardization Management Board (SMB) and IEC Vice-President
  • five Members of the Council Board (CB)
  • nine Members of the SMB
  • four Members of the Conformity Assessment Board (CAB

Other principal items on the agenda 

  • The General Secretary’s report (see separate e-tech article)
  • The President’s address (see separate e-tech article)
  • Financial matters
  • Reports from the Council Board, including reports from the IEC Vice-Presidents on CAB, Market Strategy Board (MSB) and SMB activities (see separate e-tech articles on CAB, SMB and MSB)
  • Forthcoming GMs (General Meetings) 

Election results 

Chair of the SMB and IEC Vice-President

Council elected Dr Ralph Sporer from Germany as Chair of the SMB and IEC Vice-President for a three-year term of office (2017-2019). 

Council Board

Council elected five financial Group A CB members for a three-year term of office (2017-2019): 

  • Mr Patrick Bernard (France)
  • Dr Keiji Kimura (Japan)
  • Mr Markus Reigl (Germany)
  • Mr John M. Thompson (United States)
  • Mr Rodney C.J. Turtle (United Kingdom) 

Standardization Management Board

Council appointed/re-appointed six Automatically Appointed Members of the SMB for a three-year term of office (2017-2019): 

  • Mr Emmanuel Petit (France)
  • Mr Michael Teigeler (Germany)
  • Mr Ivano Visintainer (Italy)
  • Mr Tadashi Ezaki (Japan)
  • Ms Anne Humberstone (United Kingdom)
  • Ms Sonya Bird (United States) 

Council elected/re-elected: 

  • Mr Carlos Perez Munguia (Mexico)
  • Mr Jos R. Remy (The Netherlands)
  • Mr Thomas Korssell (Sweden) 

as members of the SMB for a three-year term of office (2017-2019). 

Conformity Assessment Board

Council re-appointed Mr Didier Bourgès (France) and Mr Tim Duffy (United States) as Automatically Appointed Members of the CAB for a three-year term of office (2017-2019). 

Council elected/re-elected: 

  • Mr Ian Forte (Australia)
  • Mr Rafael Nava (Mexico) 

as members of the CAB for a three-year term of office (2017-2019). 

Financial matters

Dr Åke Danemar, IEC Treasurer, reported on the financial situation of the IEC. 

Council approved the audited accounts of the Commission for the financial year 2015 as well as the 2017 budget and the distribution of national dues for 2017. 

Future General Meetings 

81st General Meeting
Vladivostok, Russian Federation, from 9 to 13 October 2017. 

82nd General Meeting
Busan, Republic of Korea, from 22 to 26 October 2018. 

83rd General Meeting
Council formally accepted the invitation of the Chinese National Committee (NC) to host the 83rd General Meeting in Shanghai from 21 to 25 October 2019. 

Although Council can only officially accept invitations from National Committees up to three years in advance, many Members have already declared their intention to invite the IEC to host a future IEC GM: 

84th General Meeting
The Swedish National Committee has stated its intention to invite the IEC for the 2020 GM in Stockholm. 

The National Committees of the United Arab Emirates, the United States and Egypt have expressed an interest in hosting the GM in the years 2021, 2022 and 2023 respectively. 

In conclusion, Council expressed its warm appreciation to all members of the Organizing Committee and the IEC National Committee of Germany for their excellent organization of the 80th IEC General Meeting and for the generous hospitality extended to IEC delegates in Frankfurt.

General view of IEC Council meeting in Frankfurt The Council Statutory Session took place in...
Frankfurt Congress Center ...the Frankfurt Congress Center
IEC National Committee delegations National Committee delegations
IEC Affiliate Country Programme delegates Affiliate Heads of delegations